Book review: November 9

november9

I just finished reading Colleen Hoover’s November 9. I initially picked out this book out of fascination (and narcissism) because it’s not everyday that you see your birth date on the cover of a book. So I grabbed it from the bookstore without having any idea of what the book is all about whatsoever.

And boy, it did not disappoint. Right off the bat, I was hooked to the story – I couldn’t stop reading it. While there were some parts of the book where I kind of predicted what would happen, the premise of the story is very unique.

Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relationships and tribulations of their own separate lives, they continue to meet on the same date every year. Until one day Fallon becomes unsure if Ben has been telling her the truth or fabricating a perfect reality for the sake of the ultimate plot twist.

I can’t remember the last time I cried so much because of a book I was reading. At some point, I couldn’t even fathom whether I was crying because I can sympathize with pain of the characters, or because my heart was bursting with so much love and joy for them. It really was a roller coaster of  emotions, but the good kind.

So if you’re looking for a good read that has the ability to tug at your heartstrings, I would definitely recommend this one.

Leave a Reply

